# FRIENDS OF ROYAL ALBERTA MUSEUM SOCIETY ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, June 29, 2023, at 5:30 pm Royal Alberta Museum – Roundhouse Theatre

#### MINUTES

**Present:** Julia Grein, Martin Ferguson-Pell, Peggi Ferguson-Pell, Heather Hobbs, Jack E, Carl Sorensen, Matthew Lee, Katherine Kosowan, Louise Charach, Marla J Daniels, Adriana Davies, Renee Ignacio, Sylvia Galbraith, Joy Lardner, Dave Lardner, Drew Delbaere, Karen Gibson, Ravi Rupnarain, Godfrey Huybregts

#### 1. Call to Order and Introductions - Ravi Rupnarain, President

The meeting was called to order at 6:20 pm

## 2. Acknowledgment of Proxies/ Declaration of Quorum - Ravi Rupnarain

Proxy	Members
Ravi Rupnarain	Roger Delbaere
Ravi Rupnarain	John Mcivor
Ravi Rupnarain	Lyn Watamaniuk
Peggi Ferguson-Pell	Karen Hansen

#### 3. Approval of Agenda - Ravi Rupnarain

**Motion:** The agenda is approved as circulated; moved by Adriana Davies. Seconded by Louise Charach; carried.

#### 4. Approval of 2022 AGM Minutes - Ravi Rupnarain

**Motion:** The minutes of the June 27, 2022, AGM are approved as circulated; moved by Peggi Ferguson-Pell, seconded by Renee Ignacio; carried

#### 5. Reports

- 5.1. President's Report: FRAMS Annual Report 2022-23 Ravi Rupnarain
- **5.2. Treasurer's Report** Karen Gibson, Treasurer

 The final Auditor's Report and Audited Financial Statements for the year ended March 31, 2023, were presented by Karen Gibson, Treasurer. No extraordinary items were noted by the audit.

**Motion:** The auditor's report and audited financial statements are approved as circulated; moved by Peggi Ferguson-Pell, seconded by Drew Delbaere; carried.

### **5.3.** Appointment of Auditor - Karen Gibson

**Motion:** The FRAMS Board of Directors is authorized to identify and employ auditors for the 2023-24 fiscal year; moved by David Lardner; seconded by Carl Sorensen; carried.

# 6. Election of Board of Directors 2023-2024 - Ravi Rupnarain

Ravi Rupnarain called for nominations from the floor three times. No nominations received from the floor. David Lardner and Renee Ignacio were put forward as seeking re-election to the board for another term. In addition, there were 3 board members not standing for re-election: Karen Gibson, Heather Kitteringham and Ravi Rupnarain. There was also 1 board member who had reached the end of their 3<sup>rd</sup> term: Drew Delbaere. Janada Hawthorne will be entering her second year of her first term and Julia Grein will be starting her first year of her first term.

**Motion:** The Nomination Slate is approved as presented; moved by Karen Gibson; Seconded by Drew Delbaere; carried.

#### 7. Other Business - Ravi Rupnarain

Ravi Rupnarain commented that 2023-24 is a rebuilding year for the society. The focus will be on rebuilding board, events and fund raising as well as maintaining the close relationship with the E.D of RAM.

#### 8. Adjournment - Ravi Rupnarain

**Motion:** The Annual General Meeting is adjourned. Moved by Godfrey Huybregts; seconded by David Lardner; carried.

**Note:** Before the start of the AGM, we were joined by Meaghan Patterson, the Executive Director of RAM, who gave a recap of the RAM's business and cultural dealings over the past year and their focus for the upcoming year. We will also had a special guest speaker, Gavin Bradley, a paleontologist from the University of Alberta.