Fill 1 Created with Sketch.
Snake Created with Sketch.
Group 3 Created with Sketch.
Fill 1 Created with Sketch.

Territorial Land Acknowledgement

We respectfully acknowledge that we are on Indigenous land.

Friends of Royal Alberta Museum Society (FRAMS) respectfully acknowledges the province of Alberta is located on Treaty 6, Treaty 7 and Treaty 8 territories, a traditional meeting ground, travelling route, and home for many Indigenous peoples.

The FRAMS office is located on Treaty 6 territory, a traditional and ancestral gathering place for diverse Indigenous peoples including Cree, Blackfoot, Métis, Nakota Sioux, Iroquois, Dene, Ojibway/Saulteaux/Anishinaabe, Inuit, and many others. We acknowledge the many First Nations, Métis and Inuit who have lived on and cared for these lands for generations. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We make this acknowledgement as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

Acknowledging traditional territory is only one part of recognizing and moving beyond colonization, and strengthening our relationships. We honour and respect the history, languages, ceremonies and culture of the First Nations, Métis and Inuit who call this territory home.